Massachusetts Car Insurance Car Insurance Quote in MA
The average auto insurance premium for residents in Massachusetts is $1,113 in 2009; the national average is $1,790.
Massachusetts Car Insurance
Massachusetts state law requires minimum Bodily Injury Liability limits of $20,000 per injured person up to a total of $40,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum limit of $5,000. This basic coverage is often referred to as 20/40/5 coverage with 20/40 UM limits.
Massachusetts Insurance Coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $20,000/$40,000 Limit
- Property Damage Liability: $5,000 Limit
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $20,000/$40,000 Limit
- Personal Injury Protection: $8,000 Limit
The state of Massachusetts follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit. Typically, you lose some of your rights to sue under a No-Fault system. Details of a no-fault system vary from state to state.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) helps pay for "reasonable and necessary" medical expenses for you and your passengers. Massachusetts state law requires a minimum Personal Injury Protection coverage of $8,000.
To help protect against damages caused to you and your passengers by an uninsured driver, Massachusetts state law requires a minimum Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage of $20,000 per person up to a total of $40,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured and/or underinsured driver.